Five-time world champion M.C. Mary Kom has decided to choose out of the Indian boxing team

Five-time world champion M.C. Mary Kom has decided to choose out of the Indian boxing team

New Delhi: Five-time world champion M.C. Mary Kom has decided to choose out of the Indian boxing team for the 2018 Asian Games, which was announced here on Friday.

As a substitute of Mary, colleague Manipur idol Sarjubala Devi will represent India in the women’s 51 kg category at the Asiad. “Sarjubala Devi beat Pinki Rani in the selection trial to take the final spot in the team. Both the boxers had got same points and share of wins in the last two months and the trial was organized to confirm the final name in the team,” the Boxing Federation of India (BFI) said in an announcement on Friday.

“Sarjubala Devi subjugated in the trial match and won with rather ease to log in her name on the Asian Games roster.” When contacted by IANS (Indo-Asian News Service), Mary fixed that she is focussed on prevailing gold in the 48kg division at the World Championships to be held here in November.

“I choose out myself because there is no 48-kg category at the Asian Games. Presently I am concentrating on winning gold at the World Championships in that weight category,” Mary told IANS.

“Also, I have prevailed medals at the Asian Games which include a gold and bronze in the 51kg event. Now I want to give an opportunity to the upcoming youngsters,” she added.

Responding to question by IANS, the stressed that the 5-time world champion is not in the team since her favorite weight category is not included at the Asiad.

“She is not expelled. The Asian Games has only a 3-weight category in women’s boxing (51kg, 57kg, and 60kg) where respective players will represent India,” the BFI(Boxing Federation Of India) said.

Apart from Sarjubala, 2016 World Championship silver medallist Sonia Lather (57kg) and Pavitra (60kg) will represent India in the women’s events.

Among the men’s Vikas Krishan (75kg) who has formerly won a gold and bronze at the 2010 and 2014 Asian Games respectively, will lead the Indian challenge.

reign Commonwealth Games (CWG) champion Gaurav Solanki (52 Kg), who recently won gold at the Chemistry Cup. Also made the cut and will look to follow his CWG run at the Asian Games.

CWG bronze winner Mohammad Hussamuddin (56kg) and silver medallist, Amit Panghal (49kg) have also been named in the team and will hope to glow on their presentation at the continental event.

Previous CWG champion Manoj Kumar (69Kg), who has struggled with his form over the past some months, will aim to prove himself once again.

Providing depth to the team will be World Championship bronze medallist Shiva Thapa, who will make his return to the team after missing out on the Commonwealth Games.

“In the test held at the Indira Gandhi Stadium on Friday, CWG silver medallist Manish Kaushik felt short as Thapa stamped his position in the team,” the BFI statement said.

“Kaushik in the history has twice won against Shiva, but the experienced boxer from Assam glance determined and left the Army pugilist roll in the middle of the squared ring to earn his berth for the Asiad.”

In the trials for the 64kg weight category, Army boxer Dheeraj beaten Rohit Tokas to reserve his place in the national team. Dheeraj is in superior form at present and had taken bronze at the 2018 Chemistry Cup.

“In order to keep the selection method transparent, BFI had taken into account performances of all the pugilists from January 2018 with the CWG holding the highest importance along with presentations in the series of international exposure trips that were conducted in the last month alone for the men and women boxers. Along with their international presentation the selection committee also accounted their presentation in camp, physical status, and injury history while finalizing the final names,” the federation said.

The 2018 Asian Games will be held in Indonesia from August 18 to September 1, with the boxing events opening on August 24.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *