India beat Bangladesh by 7 wickets in the Super-4 match of Asia Cup

India beat Bangladesh by 7 wickets in the Super-4 match of Asia Cup

India defeated Bangladesh by 7 wickets in the first match of Super-4

Dubai: A strong half-century from captain Rohit Sharma in the first Super-4 encounter played at the Asia Cup in 2018, India started its campaign in Asia Cup Super-4 by defeating Bangladesh by seven wickets on Friday.
India won the toss and invited Bangladesh to bat first and stacked the entire team for 173 runs in 49.1 overs. India scored an easy victory in 36.2 overs with 174 runs for 3-wickets. Rohit scored an unbeaten 83, while Shikhar Dhawan scored 40 and Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored 33 runs. IND vs BNG live score

Jadeja, who was involved in the team instead of the injured-Hardik Pandya, took full advantage of this opportunity and got 4-wickets for 29 runs in 10 overs. Fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar took 3-wicket for 32 runs and Jasprit Bumrah also took 3 wickets for 37 runs.
Bangladesh’s 7 wickets fell to 101 runs, but Mehidy Hassan (42) and captain Mashrafe Mortaza (26) contributed 66 runs for the 8 wickets, which helped his team reach a respectable score. Indian batsmen did not have any problem in making the target runs. Rohit has three useful partnerships with Dhawan (61), Ambati Rayudu (45) and Dhoni with 64 runs. Rohit played 104 balls and hit 5-fours and 3-sixes.

Dhawan, who scored a century against Hong Kong, initially took charge of making runs Meanwhile, he also sent Mustafizur Rahman’s bouncer for six runs. The experienced Shakib Al Hasan hit the left-handed batsman with a straight ball.

In the next over of Shakib though, Rohit hit a six on the Cow Corner and then hit the ball to deep mid-wicket by six runs and completed his 36th ODI fifty in ODIs. Off-spinner Mehidy Hassan, who started the bowling from the other end, did not play the Indians openly. He gave only 38 runs in 10 overs.

Rayudu (13 runs from 28 balls) was struggling at the start and in the end, he was caught by the Bangladeshi review for catching the wickets of Rubel Hossain. Rohit again hit Shakib ball for six runs. This All-rounder took only 1-wicket with his 44 runs in 9.2 overs.

Dhoni got off to bat at number-4. The wicketkeeper-batsman, initially, rotated the strike and gave Rohit full time playing the full flow, but after a few boundary shots, he gave his full chance to celebrate his fans. They put a catch on the boundary in an effort to put the winning six on Mortaza’s ball. Dinesh Karthik remained unbeaten on 1-run. Earlier, Bhuvneshwar and Bumrah gave India a good start, while Jadeja wreaked havoc on the middle order, as Bangladesh scored 65 runs for 5-wickets.

Bhuvneshwar and Bumrah put pressure on Bangladesh’s batsmen from the start. It also got a positive result as soon as Liton Das (7) caught Kedar Jadhav at the backward square leg in an effort to pull Bhuvneshwar’s ball. Bumrah hit the other opener Nazmul Hussain Shanto (7) in the next over in the slip.

Jadeja took the wicket of Shakib (17) in the 9.4 over. Shakib gave an easy catch to Dhawan standing at square leg in an attempt to play big shot. Dhawan got four catches in the innings. Jadeja then took the wicket of Mohammad Mithun 9 runs and then Mushfiqur Rahim took a wicket of 21 runs.
Bangladesh’s team reached the score of 100 in the 32nd over. Bhuvneshwar Lbw out Mahmudullah (25) immediately after this, although the batsmen were not happy with the decision. In the next over, Jadeja gave him a catch to Dhoni (12) to Mossad Hossain. Mahamudullah and Mosaddek added 36 runs for the 6-wicket. Jadeja was chosen as the man of the match. Jadeja took the most 4-wickets. India will next match against Pakistan on Sunday, while Bangladesh will face Afghanistan.


India: Rohit Sharma CPT, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni WKT, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Bangladesh: Liton Das, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim WKT, MohammadMithun, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza CPT, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *