India vs New Zealand 1st T20I: New Zealand beat India by 80 runs to take 1-0 lead

India vs New Zealand 1st T20I: New Zealand beat India by 80 runs to take 1-0 lead

India vs New Zealand 1st T20I: New Zealand beat India by 80 runs to take the 1-0 lead at Westpac Stadium in Wellington on Wednesday.

Westpac Stadium: After the ODI series loss by 4-1, New Zealand bounced back to pick up a huge 80-run win in the first T20I against India at Westpac Stadium in Wellington on Wednesday. Chasing down the goal of 220 runs made by New Zealand, India only controls to reach 139 in 19.2 overs. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan got off to a fine begin before the captain handed a catch to Tim Southee at deep midwicket.
India sprung up a surprise, sending Vijay Shankar to bat at No. 3. The all-rounder impressed beat 27 runs in 18 balls including 2-six and 2-fours. But after Dhawan was cleaned up by a 151 kph delivery from Lockie Ferguson, India’s middle-order came unglued.

Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi remained the star bowlers for the Kiwis. While Santner dismissed the dangerous Rishabh Pant and Vijay Shankar in the same over, Sodhi took care of Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya in his first over to allow Kiwis to take control of the match.
MS Dhoni and Krunal Pandya contributed 52 runs together, but it was not more to help the side. Tim Southee took the wicket of Pandya for 20 runs, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar was dismissed in the next over by Lockie Ferguson. Dhoni’s opposition ended as he pulled a short delivery from Tim Southee to Lockie Ferguson in the deep. Made 39 runs in the first T20I match where Dhoni completed his 1500 T20 international runs, he has become the fourth Indian batsman to do so. Dhoni has scored 1526 runs in 94 matches at an average of 37.2.
Rohit Sharma tops the sixes chart with 98 sixes from India in T20 international cricket. Dhoni has equaled Virat Kohli 48 sixes with beat 1 sixes. Dhoni has scored 48 sixes in a total of 94 matches. In the final over, Daryl Mitchell cleaned up Yuzvendra Chahal as India was All out for 139 runs.

Earlier, India captain Rohit Sharma had won the toss and asked the Kiwis to come on to bat. In the absence of Martin Guptill, wicketkeeper Tim Seifert was given the responsibility to start the innings with Colin Munro. The right-handed batsman impressed as he beat 84 runs in 43 balls to help the Kiwis cross the 200-run mark. The New Zealand keeper Tim Seifert was awarded the man of the match award for his performance.
New Zealand’s middle order, comprising of Kane Williamson (34 runs in 20 balls and Ross Taylor (23) added vital runs for the squad while a late hitting from Scott Kuggeleijn (20 runs in 7 balls) took New Zealand to 219/6 in 20 overs.
This is India’s biggest defeat in terms of run margin in T20Is. With the win, New Zealand takes a 1-0 lead in the series. The two squads will meet again for the 2nd T20I on Friday.

India vs New Zealand 1st T20I Teams:

New Zealand Playing XI: Tim SeifertWKT, Colin Munro, Kane WilliamsonCPT, Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson

India Playing XI: Rohit SharmaCPT, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik, MS DhoniWKT, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *