India vs New Zealand, 2nd T20I: India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to level series

India vs New Zealand, 2nd T20I: India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to level series

India vs New Zealand, 2nd T20I:  India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to level series

A clinical India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets in the second T20 International (T20I) at the Eden Park, Auckland on Friday. With this win, India is now backing on level terms in the three-match series. Krunal Pandya’s three-for and skipper Rohit Sharma’s blistering fifty spurred the men in blue to a convincing win.
New Zealand won the toss and chosen to bat first but Krunal’s early blows which included three vital wickets restricted New Zealand to 158/8.

Indian starter Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan gave a good begin to the chase of 158 runs and Added 79 runs for the first wicket, Rohit Sharma scored a brilliant 50 runs. Besides, Shikhar Dhawan scored 30 runs. Rishabh Pant also scored 40 runs and Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored an unbeaten 20 runs.
Krunal Pandya becomes Man of the Match: –
All-rounder Krunal Pandya, who got 3 wickets in his 4 overs spell, was awarded the Man of the Match award.
Krunal (3/28 in 4 overs) dismissed Colin Munro (12) and Captain Kane Williamson (20) to peg the Black Caps back. His spell applied the brakes after being brought inside the Power play overs.
In between, Krunal also got the controversial wicket of Daryl Mitchell (1), who fell prey to an umpiring howler, when ‘Hotspot’ showed a clear, inside edge, onto the pads.
However, Colin de Grandhomme then counter-attacked, making a blistering 50 off 28 balls to adding 77 runs with Ross Taylor (42 off 36 balls) for the fifth wicket.
Once De Grandhomme was sent back to the dug-out by Hardik Pandya (1/36 in 4 overs) and Taylor was run-out, New Zealand lost momentum.
It was a much better performance by the Indian bowlers with Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1/29 in 4 overs) and young Khaleel Ahmed (2/27)
India bowled 35 dot balls, wherein 18 were delivered between Khaleel and Bhuvneshwar.

New Zealand Playing XI: Tim SeifertWKT, Colin Munro, Kane WilliamsonCPT, Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson

India Playing XI: Rohit SharmaCPT, Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, MS DhoniWKT, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *