Sri Lanka beat South Africa by 3 wickets in the only T20I match

Sri Lanka beat South Africa by 3 wickets in the only T20I match

T-20 match: Sri Lanka defeated South Africa by 3 wickets at Premadasa Stadium

The only T-20 match between South Africa and Sri Lanka was played at R. Premadasa Stadium of Colombo. The decision to bat first after winning the toss was proved wrong by the South African team. The team did not play a whole of 20 overs and only stacked up 98 runs in 16.4 overs. Opening batsman Quinton de Kock scored the highest 20 runs.

South Africa wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock scored 20 runs off 11 balls and Hashim Amla (0) scored. Hendricks (19), Duminy (3), Klaasen (18) scored runs. While Phehlukwayo and Rabada could not even open their account. Junior Dala (12) remained unbeaten on the run South African team piled up on 98 runs in 16.4 overs.
South Africa piled up 98 runs against Sri Lanka this is the lowest score of South Africa in the international T20. On 3 March 2013, South Africa against Pakistan in All Centurion was All-out for 100 runs. After being All-out on 98 runs, it is South Africa’s lowest score in T20 history.
South Africa Falls of Wickets:
Amla 14/1(1.5 overs)
Quinton de Kock 30/2(3.4 overs)
Hendricks 42/3(5.3 overs)
Duminy 57/4(8 overs)
Klaasen 69/5(10.1 overs)
Phehlukwayo 69.6(10.4 over)
Rabada 73/7(11 overs)
Miller 84/8(13.3 overs)
Ngidi 93/9(16 overs)
Shamsi 98/10 (16.4 over)
SL 99/7 (16.ovr)
SA 98 (16.4ovr)

Akshay Dhananjay, who took 6 wickets in the last ODI, got 2 wickets in 15 balls with two wickets in four over’s in the only T-20 match. During this, Akila Dhananjay threw 15 dot balls. During this time his economy was 3.75.
Spin bowler Lakshan Sandakan given 19 of his four over’s in his name, making the most of his 3 wickets. And De Silva’s name was two wickets, while Udana and Rajitha got one wicket each. Sri Lanka now had to make a small score of 99 runs to win the match and series.
The Sri Lankan team, after chasing 99 runs, lost two wickets for just 6 runs. After this, there was a vital partnership of 53 runs between Dinesh Chandimal and Dhananjaya de Silva. After being dismissed for 26 runs by Dhananjay, South Africa once again returned to the game and clicked on Sri Lanka’s next four wickets for 25 runs. Standing at one end, Dinesh Chandimal scored 36 runs in 33 balls, including 3 fours and 1 Six. Thanks to the best innings, Sri Lanka won the match by 3 wickets in 16 overs. Dhananjay de Silva was awarded the Man of the Match for his all-around performance.

South Africa’s most shameful performance after the retirement of AB De Villiers.
South Africa Playing XI: JP Duminy C, Quinton de Kock(w), Hasim Amla, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi.

Sri Lanka Playing XI : Angelo Mathews(c), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal (w), Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Thisara Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Kasun Rajitha, Isuru Udana.

South Africa’s bowlers also showed great performance but could not win their match. Sri Lanka won the small target of 99 runs in just 16 overs to register their win against South Africa.

Sri Lanka defeated South Africa and made a 1-0 lead in T20 match

Srilanka vs South Africa Match Scorecard

Sri Lanka vs South Africa T20 match highlights (Colombo)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *